by Anthony J. Cirone, Morris Lang and Charles Dowd


Buy Now!

Percussion Master Class On Works Of Carter

This latest work in the Meredith Music Publications Master Class Series presents a comprehensive, interpretive analysis and performance guide of three legendary compositions for timpani and percussion. Together,  Morris Lang, Charles Dowd, and Anthony J. Cirone have put a lifetime of performance and study experience into an extensive volume featuring Eight Pieces for Four Timpani by Elliott Carter, Concertino for Percussion and Small Orchestra by Darius Milhaud and l’Histoire du Soldat by Igor Stravinsky. This in-depth, one-of-a-kind publication includes:

  • Corrections of wrong notes, rhythms, phrasings, and dynamics
  • Far-reaching suggestions on interpretation
  • Revised notation when original music was difficult to read
  • Suggested muffling to enhance interpretation
  • Additional articulations when appropriate
  • Suggested sticking to increase musical phrasing
  • Historical references
  • Multiple-Percussion set up
  • Translation of Foreign Terms

View more books in Master Class Series